Psalm 40 – Picking up and steading

Hello Hello to all…..today is discovery gardens day!!! Project aim – 10……10 stroppy ppl to deal with about AC queries hehe……but tis goin ok so far……3 and counting plus i hav the names of the concerned ppl for 9/10 so here we go…..on a roll i suppose. Well this is the psalm from this morning folks…..enjoy and happy 5th December.
 
1
    I waited patiently for the LORD to help me,
       and he turned to me and heard my cry.

    2
    He lifted me out of the pit of despair,
       out of the mud and the mire.
    He set my feet on solid ground
       and steadied me as I walked along.

I like this image, the image of God steadying us as well as picking us up, He makes sure we will not just fall back down again, but that we will stand firmly.

    3
    He has given me a new song to sing,
       a hymn of praise to our God.
    Many will see what he has done and be astounded.
       They will put their trust in the LORD.

    4
    Oh, the joys of those who trust the LORD,
       who have no confidence in the proud,
       or in those who worship idols.

    5
    O LORD my God, you have done many miracles for us.
       Your plans for us are too numerous to list.
    If I tried to recite all your wonderful deeds,
       I would never come to the end of them.

    6
    You take no delight in sacrifices or offerings.
       Now that you have made me listen, I finally understand–
       you don’t require burnt offerings or sin offerings.

    7
    Then I said, "Look, I have come.
       And this has been written about me in your scroll:

    8
    I take joy in doing your will, my God,
       for your law is written on my heart."

    9
    I have told all your people about your justice.
       I have not been afraid to speak out,
       as you, O LORD, well know.

    10
    I have not kept this good news hidden in my heart;
       I have talked about your faithfulness and saving power.
    I have told everyone in the great assembly
       of your unfailing love and faithfulness.

Something which all of us should be compelled to do. I know i dont speak about the amazing things which i see Him doing anywhere near enough, why is it that talking about wat we did yesterday or which crazy thing so and so did always seems to come much easier than things which are really important?

    11
    LORD, don’t hold back your tender mercies from me.
       My only hope is in your unfailing love and faithfulness.

    12
    For troubles surround me–
       too many to count!
    They pile up so high
       I can’t see my way out.
    They are more numerous than the hairs on my head.
       I have lost all my courage.

    13
    Please, LORD, rescue me!
       Come quickly, LORD, and help me.

    14
    May those who try to destroy me
       be humiliated and put to shame.
    May those who take delight in my trouble
       be turned back in disgrace.

    15
    Let them be horrified by their shame,
       for they said, "Aha! We’ve got him now!"

    16
    But may all who search for you
       be filled with joy and gladness.
    May those who love your salvation
       repeatedly shout, "The LORD is great!"

    17
    As for me, I am poor and needy,
       but the Lord is thinking about me right now.
    You are my helper and my savior.
       Do not delay, O my God.

I will miss the encouragement that comes from David’s psalms in 2 days when we change over but i am also looking forward to some further insite on another opinion of God’s many characteristics.

Best of luck for the rest of the day to all!

~Lis~

One Response to “Psalm 40 – Picking up and steading”

  1. Surfer Says:

    Something that strikes me about David\’s psalms is how he has no qualms about telling God how he feels and how he wants–particularily down and the destruction of the wicked/his enemies respectively. David realized something a lot of people of his time didn\’t–even a lot of people now. That God doesn\’t want sacrifices and burnt offerings. They\’re symbols pointing to the truth, the simple yet astounding fact that Jesus died for sin, shed His blood, conquered death, and offers us salvation. Trust in sacrifices can never result in salvation, only by faith in Christ. Like even today its so easy to slip into the mentality of we need to work at our good works (and yes this is true) but so often for a wrong motive. Why should we desire to be good, upright and pure people? To bring glory to God and Him alone! I struggle with this, and so often my motives for doing good are selfish, because in some way it will benefit me.Like David I\’m poor and needy, but right now, this very moment God\’s thinkin about me. That\’s soo cool. Ever had somebody send u summit or you talk to them, and they\’re like been thinkin of ya, and kinda nice feeling, well… God\’s thinking of ya! alright, loads of spanish homework, so I\’m off!inHimDrew(and the sons of Korah are next… I guess I didn\’t find them so very different in tone than David, dunno maybe I\’m not remembering right)

Leave a Reply

